• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Modifying Brake Lever

N
Oct 10, 2010
Jackson Wy
Having problem with the reach on the 21 850 Pro brake lever. I like the dog leg shape which helps with my finger length but it is just too far of a reach to have my finger on it continuously. I am thinking of taking a file and shaving down the portion that drives the master cylinder piston. It would loosen the parking brake but I am ok with that because it is way to tight and I can barely set the parking brake on the first notch anyway. I would start using the second notch afterwards. I am new to the Axys and have no clue so let me know your thoughts.

o2bncamo

Lifetime Membership
Nov 7, 2009
wisconsin
Filing it down will work but it is a PITA to get it right where you want it. TKI make a closer to the bar lever for cheap $50 ish. Or even better is Skinz adjustable lever, ,heated or non-heated.
It can be adjusted to exactly where you want it. The Skinz is definitely more pricey.

hamlin

Lifetime Membership
Sep 13, 2013
2nd the tki. I thought they were overrated until I tried one on another sled, had one ordered that night.

law.74

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Dec 16, 2017
My experience with unheated aluminum brake levers is that they can get so cold with thin gloves as to discourage a finger on the brake at all times.

Fwiw one can easily diy heat a Tki lever.
Much cheaper than skinz…

N
Oct 10, 2010
Jackson Wy
Before I ordered a new lever I decided to take the stock lever off and see what if I could file it down. I had to take off more than an 1/8 of an inch to bring it to a more comfortable position and also so that I could use the parking brake easily. It is much better for both.