• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Sidehill question

K
Sep 9, 2013
Bend, Oregon
Kind of a noob here question here, 2000 miles total experience. ( 2014 Summit, now 2022 Lynx )

One thing I have not been able to figure out is sidehills, especially if I'm going slow. The front always wants to crawl up the hill, I can't seem to figure out how to get it to turn back down the hill or less down the hill unless I turn all the way out of the sidehill. I seem to get stuck a lot on sidehills because of it.

I should probably take a clinic but wondered if there is some obvious fix? Doesn't seem to matter how far forward my wrong foot forward foot is either..

My last like 4/5 stucks were me practicing on sidehills lol.

Coldfinger

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Nebraska
slow or fast sidehill, doesnt matter. You need to counter steer with ski tips turned toward downhill.
If your sled wants to climb uphill, maybe you have too much weight toward rear of running board so try moving foot placement more toward the footwell.

IDspud

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Nov 26, 2007
Oakley, ID
And as said above, your skis need pointed away from the hill. Also your wrong foot forward comment makes me wonder if you’re trying too hard, too much rider input.

Snowbird11

Lifetime Membership
May 29, 2011
SLC/Samak, Ut
I have no clue how to ride the lynx but all the others respond well to throttle input and weight balance. The closer you are to the rear of the tunnel the more it turns uphill. If you counter steer and keep weight forward of center it won't turn uphill easily. Slow down and finesse the throttle

S
Mar 6, 2008
Northern Sweden
Start off by staying with your feet where they are supposed to be, wrong foot forward is in the "next class" and only needed in tricky terrain, if even there.