• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Khoas Kurts belt drive testing

madmax

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Salt lake city
I'm always trying new parts on my sleds, some are worth the money some are not. I've been debating for a few months on whether to lower the gearing on my Khaos or not. I have a set of Pro gears that lowers it a little, but IMO they don't go low enough and when I've put the pro gears on other axys sleds I have noticed very little difference. Got 50 miles on my 100% stock Khaos over Thanksgiving weekend. Went up yesterday and rode again. Snow was way deeper than I thought it was going to be. We got 4-5 feet over thanksgiving weekend and another 12" at least last weekend. Best snow I've seen in Utah first week of December in a very long time. I like to add parts one at a time to see what changes they make. When id ask my friends who had Kurts gear down kits if they were a benefit, they all said the gear down and clutching made a big difference. Im like, well was it the clutching or gear down that made the difference? Since my sled was still 100% stock I wanted to see what just the gear down would do riding at close to 10,000. First good play hill I tune on was so steep and deep I could not get out the top. Running max 7900 rpm and 36-40 mph track speed on multiple attempts. Not bad for a stock sled at 10,000 feet. Went back to the truck (only 10 minutes away) and installed the Kurts gear down kit only (no clutch changes). The instructions say to "break in" the belt for 100 miles. Hmmm, not going to happen today. I did get 10 trail miles on it before I couldn't stand it anymore and went for the same hill as before. Once off trail I noticed a significant difference in pop in the front end when I hit the gas that made the sled a lot more fun and playful to ride, especially poping across a creek bed. What I wasn't expecting was the huge difference o