• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

24 catalyst 154 clutch noise? Belt drive?

P
Dec 15, 2018
Was wondering if any of you salty dawgs could help me learn a little bit more about stuff. Today my buddy was riding my sled and he got stuck and he tried to wiggle and soin the track to clear it out and it was one of those times that the e fine tried to rev and the belt tried to soin and it just acted stuck . So he let off thank goodness but it smelled like belt and after we got it out now there’s a loud “tick tick tick” at idle and it sounds like the primary clutch but I am a noob and don’t know but know it ain’t good? Any idea how I can check or what I should do look for look at ect? Thanks . I do not know how to disassemble the clutch but I can google maybe

P
Dec 15, 2018
Can’t figure out a video but it definitely sounds like a knock and it’s pronounced under slight acceleration. Didn’t run it with belt engaged. Know it engages and runs cause it got out yesterday . Belt just looks like a belt no obvious damage? The weights are easily moved and make a adubile click but I dunno if that’s normal or if it’s not? Shoot want to go ride today but don’t feel like I trust it and don’t want to make it worse or is there a worse besides getting towed out . Bummer. Should never let yer friends ride your new snowmobile lol

A
Mar 21, 2023
WA
The only thing it could be at idle is clutch or engine related. Obviously, the clutches aren’t engaged at idle, so that rules out anything from the secondary back.
I would hope your new sled is still under warranty, and would take full advantage of that.
Also, if you plan on doing any of your own work/ maintenance get a factory service manual from Cat, has all the specs, disassembly/assembly instructions and includes diagnostic procedures.

P
Dec 15, 2018