• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Help: is this detonation?

W
Dec 3, 2010
Bozeman, MT
Hey guys,

I'm new to sledding this year and purchased an '06 Arctic Cat M7 162 LE with the Speedwerx M8 kit (Stealth version, i.e. stock head with Speedwerx domes), reflashed AC ECU, and can. The sled has been ripping so far until last weekend.

I had done a bowl lap and come back down to park and about 200ft before I stopped I noticed the sled didn't sound right. I came to a stop and it bogged and died. I started it again and heard an awful rattling sound coming from one of the cylinders so I immediately shut it down. A buddy and I pulled the plugs and both cylinders were running very lean. We decided to leave it and came and got it two days later (that's a whole other story: picture two guys and a come-along winching a sled 100+ft up a hill; the tow out after that was easy, though).

Tore it apart last night. The piston and dome are shot and the cylinder wall has some galling on it. Note this is only one cylinder (rider's left), the other one looks alright. Haven't tore into the bottom end yet, that's tonight's project, but I'm not optimistic: a quick peak showed some small pieces of metal floating around down there.

So the question is, what caused this? The rattling, running lean, and piston destruction point to detonation to me, but I've never seen such large holes from detonation, just widespread pitting. The detonation could also put undue stress on the crank bearings, possibly causing the small metal pieces floating around in the crank case.
Additionally, the holes on the piston and the dome seem to match up fairly well. Does this represent the point of pre-ignition? This doesn't point to a foreign object in the combustion chamber, does it?