• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Diesel Trucks

TDR

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Dec 19, 2012
Just wondering what everyone’s experience has been the last few years. Looking at a new Ford or GM but of course the internet is generally full of complaints and not a balanced comparison. Any opinions on overall quality and reliability? Owned many GM’s but never a Ford. Drive them both and they are nice but who knows longer term. Thanks.

S
Nov 26, 2007
utah
i've been driving pickups for 46 years now, i've owned all the brands, chevy was the first , and eventually the first to never buy again, due to overall problems that kept it in the shop too much.....drove Fords for quite a few years until the diesel engine problems after about 2002.....went to Dodge for about six years ( i buy new most years, put 40k-60k per year ) liked the Dodge, but they had emission problems and other random suspension, drive train problems and went back to Ford when their newer diesels came out about10-12 years ago, and have have virtually no problems with them since....when price of diesel went to a buck a gallon more than gas, i bought my first gas ( 6.2) and liked it more than i thought, bought a 7.3 gas when it came out 4 years ago, never went in the shop except for oil changes.....didn't pull as hard as my diesels, but i could pull my 13k boat at the speed limit just about anywhere....bought it for $54k, ran it for four years and traded it in for $46k two months ago.....bought a 2024 F-250 Lariat with the 7.3 gas, 430 rearend and like it very much.....use regular gas except when i'm pulling heavy loads.....get 14-17 mpg empty and about 9.5 with my 13k boat (10 wide and 12 tall, lots of wind drag).....like my gas, no def, no freeze-ups, much cheaper overall maintenance, quite, smooth ....wouldn't go back to diesel unless i was pulling over 10k regularly....never tried a Toyota, do