• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Long range rifle scope?

Z

zr600

Oct 26, 2001
Bismarck ND
What would you guys recomend for a long range scope on a 22-250. It is used for predator calling, targets, and prairie dogs. I have up to a $600 budget. I would like a bdc or mildot dont know which one would be best for me im new to long range, want zeroing turrets so i can do some turret turning on targets and praire dogs.

Scott

Scott Stiegler
Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Nov 1, 1998
W Mont
I have a Nikon M-223 on my AR-15. It was pretuned for my caliber and bullet grain. I like it a lot.
It's NOT an MOA turret, it's an actual yardage turret.

I like it a LOT. My daughter, when she was about 11, hit an exploding target (I think it was the 1/2 pound size) at 421 yards. That scope flat out WORKS out of the box!!!!!

I just put a Vortex Viper LR 4-16 x 44 with BDH reticle (I think that's what it's called) on my .300 Win Mag. It was $450.
These Vortex Viper optics are Swarovski quality. NOT kidding. I have both.

Ordered a yardage turret (MOA turret is awesome for bench shooting, but can be cumbersome for hunting). Haven't gotten to fire it yet, but I love this scope. It's REALLY freakin clear on 16x at 100 yards. Holy crap that's a great bench scope too.

With the MOA turret gone and the yardage turret in place...I can't wait to set up on a bull at 450 yards and range it, dial it and squeeze. Won't need the ballistics app on my phone when hunting now.

Last edited:
H
Nov 26, 2007
Back in Idaho
I typically have the Leupolds on all my Cooper 20 caliber varmint rigs as I really like their Varmint Hunter reticle. I have a VX-L in the 4x14 and a VX-3 6.5x20. These are a bit over your budget, but you can get a VX-3 4x14x40mm with the Varmint hunter's reticle for about 600.

Though, I have some friends with the Vortex and they feel the same way as Scott. They love them.