• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Best Intake for 05 RMK 900?????

J

jafraune

Dec 13, 2007
wyoming
I was wondering what you guys are running for intakes on your 900's? I was looking at the timbersled, fire and ice, and slp intakes. I want to do this to free up some space under the hood, such as the gigantic plastic intake/clutch cover, and to help reduce the heat. I was thinking the timbersled because I would prefer to keep the radiator in if possible. I am new to the polaris sled family so any help would be great. And yes I did do a search and looked at know about the pistons etc.....Thanks guys.....

AaronBND

Lifetime Membership
Nov 12, 2005
Cascade Mnts, OR.
Everybody seems to really like the Fire N Ice box the best. I have the SLP and like it to this point. As far as the radiator.........I would yank it. Mine is gone, 12lbs down and I would never look back. Overheating has never been an issue! JMO

Aaron

Dogmeat

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Feb 1, 2006
Castle Rock, CO
i'm replacing the SLP intake with the FnI one before next season.

the SLP one is crap on a mountain sled that actually sees powder.

J

JesseJames

Jan 9, 2005
I used to run a SLP, but had some problems keeping it sealed real well where the two halves met up with the factory piece you had to cut. I was also worried about hitting a tree, and taking it out. You would be kinda screwed for snow injestion then.

I also tried a Fabcraft. It looked pretty slick, but it didn't even flow enough air to keep the powervalves open. I am now running a Timbersled, and have no complaints about it. A little bog once in a while from steam coming off the pipe, but not very often. I also have vents on the front of my hood, which lets alot of cold air in the front, and vents in the back, so I have alot of air movement through the hood, so it isn't drawing so much warm air. Jesse.

Mar 25, 2004
elkford