• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

07 Dragon 700 Stator Failure????

M

MTN Tamer

Apr 26, 2009
Hi all, I've got a little issue that I could use some polaris guru insight into. I'm new to polaris, I bought an 07 D7 for a backup and for my girlfriend to ride, it has been a great slead overall this season. My issue is that currently when I start the sled to warm up, it idles poorly, sounds like it is an old diesel with a governor that is hunting. The guages will not come on until I rev it up over 3500 rpm's, and the headlight only works on one setting, and when it is on the guages will not come on at all. Also when I start her up it can vary from one to five pulls and will rev slightly and then die without warning if it is left at idle. I am suspicious that a weak stator on the way out could be the issue, just wondering if anyone agrees with that or has any other insight? Also the sled has 5400 miles on original motor, that the previous owner said he had not done any work to. So far I've just been doing maintanance like new plugs, chain, clean and check exhaust valves and solenoid, things like that. Thanks for looking guys.

Kraven

Lifetime Membership
Apr 11, 2009
MIDWEST
DRAGON 700

What's the voltage showing on the dash??????

Could be the stator

Also, I'd check the T.P.S.

Dirt in the throttle bodies???

Check out the TECH TIPS for 600/700/800 thread under "INCREASING YOUR IQ" at the top.

I have a 2007 D7, 3700 trouble-free miles, my bud's 2007 D7, 2500 trouble free miles

Hope this helps.