• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Best Gearing for Deep snow 800 dragon?

C

Clarke673

Somewhere between too dumb to quit and flat earth
Dec 2, 2007
Gardiner Montana
What is the best gearing to go to?

I want to gear it down because i have no need and will never go 80 mph. My top speed i will need is about 65 or so.

I do not know what the stock gearing is (09 800 dragon, and i am new to the sled) But what is the best rout? I would if at all possible, like to use the stock chain.

All the sled has done to it is HPS can, and soon ez-ryde and Pc-5. After i gear it down.....what should i do to my stock clutching? Clutching is still WAY over my head so all i can do is tell you it is stock and it is going to need the primary rebuilt soon, and probably some work done on the secondary.

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
A

akrevrider

Jan 15, 2008
Wasilla, Alaska
What is the best gearing to go to?

I want to gear it down because i have no need and will never go 80 mph. My top speed i will need is about 65 or so.

I do not know what the stock gearing is (09 800 dragon, and i am new to the sled) But what is the best rout? I would if at all possible, like to use the stock chain.

All the sled has done to it is HPS can, and soon ez-ryde and Pc-5. After i gear it down.....what should i do to my stock clutching? Clutching is still WAY over my head so all i can do is tell you it is stock and it is going to need the primary rebuilt soon, and probably some work done on the secondary.

Thanks in advance

Increasing your IQ: Gearing link

http://www.snowestonline.com/forum/showthread.php?t=173559&highlight=gearing

I went to a 19/42 stock chain/ changed the bottom gear to a 42 tooth Team gear ordered from WPS. Re-adjusted the tension & tons more bottom end.

Clutching is Ron's 67 gram Big*Torque weights and a light Team Green in the primary and 2 delirins in the secondary.