• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Carbides for RMSHA Racing???

A
Jul 6, 2009
I am new to Hill climb racing. I am going to put screws in my track but am wondering if I should change my carbides too. I know when putting studs in a track it is recomended that you also put better carbides on the ski's.

Anyone running aftermarked carbides and if so which brand and length of carbide do you recomend?

Racer220

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
43.463558, -110.762496
I haven't caught a look at the latest ISR rulebook, but I definitely know different carbides are legal in improved stock and Mod (stock-not sure now with the new stock rules) You can only have up to 10" of carbide per ski not less than 60 degree cut. The carbide has to be continuous also (unless you have the Polaris Sidehiller 2's that came with 2 carbides. When I had those I ran a 6" on the inside and a 4" on the outside.) I have seen people flagged in tech because a section of the continuous carbide got knocked out and had to be replaced. DOUBLE-CHECK, but I believe the wear bar cannot be bigger than 1/2" thick. You definitely want control because most courses are gated-technical courses with super hard icy corners. I would recommend starting off with a 6"-8" carbide and get some riding on some harder surfaces to get a feel of things. I think I was running Woodys TrailBlazers last year and they worked good. Woody's, Studboy are the two main places I would go for carbides. There is also Roetin?? but I don't think I've ever used them I don't really know too many of the cat riders (you have a 'M' right?) but could prob get some names so you can get some advice on how to set the suspensions up. More ski pressure is key. It SUCKS when you're out in the hills, but you will love being able to turn the sled when you are still in the throttle.